2011 Films for the Forest Winners

Overall Winner

B.O.P: Breath of the Planet
Directed by: Roxy Collingwood, Michael Hinojosa, Nikki Dahlin

Best Animation Winner

Directed by: Benjamin Osheyack

Youth Winner

My Tree
Directed by: Tracy E. Galligan

Best Narrative Winner

Directed by: Steve Bradford

2011 Films for the Forest Judges

Elizabeth Avellan


Elizabeth Avellán, VP of Troublemaker Studios, is known as producer of the “Spy Kids” series, “Sin City”, “Grindhouse”, “Predator”, “Machete”, and other major features.

Ed Begley Jr.


Emmy-nominated actor and dedicated environmentalist Ed Begley Jr. is well known for his roles in ‘St. Elsewhere’, ‘This is Spinal Tap’, and ‘Pineapple Express.

Richard Linklater

Detour Filmproduction, Austin Film Society

Oscar-nominated Linklater is a respected writer-director and Artistic Director of the Austin Film Society, which he founded in 1985.The Austin Film Society has given out over $800,000 in grants to Texas filmmakers and received the first National Honoree Award from the Directors Guild of America. He is a long-time supporter of Rainforest Partnership and has been a Films for the Forest judge since its inception in 2009. His films include “Fast Food Nation,” “Dazed and Confused’” “School of Rock,” “Before Sunset” and “Boyhood.”