2012 Films for the Forest Winners

Overall Winner

Directed by: Kate Miller

Professional Winner

The Guardians
Directed by: Oribel Divine

2012 Films for the Forest Judges

Jay Duplass


Elizabeth Avellán, VP of Troublemaker Studios, is known as producer of the “Spy Kids” series, “Sin City”, “Grindhouse”, “Predator”, “Machete”, and other major features.

Philippe Cousteau Jr.


Philippe Cousteau Jr. has written, directed, and produced many environmental public service announcements. He is a correspondent for CNN, Animal Planet, and Planet Green.

Richard Linklater

Detour Filmproduction, Austin Film Society

Oscar-nominated Linklater is a respected writer-director and Artistic Director of the Austin Film Society, which he founded in 1985.The Austin Film Society has given out over $800,000 in grants to Texas filmmakers and received the first National Honoree Award from the Directors Guild of America. He is a long-time supporter of Rainforest Partnership and has been a Films for the Forest judge since its inception in 2009. His films include “Fast Food Nation,” “Dazed and Confused’” “School of Rock,” “Before Sunset” and “Boyhood.”