2013 Films for the Forest Winners

Overall 1st Place

Amazon Gold Directed by: Reuben Aaronson (USA)

Amateur Short Films Winner

The Beauty of Mangrove Forests Directed by: Dennis Zaidi (Bahamas and Canada)

Youth Films Finalist

The Lungs of the Planet Directed by: Daniels Elementary Academy

2013 Films for the Forest Judges

Philippe Cousteau Jr.

Producer Philippe Cousteau Jr. has written, directed, and produced many environmental public service announcements. He is a correspondent for CNN, Animal Planet, and Planet Green.

Jay Duplass

Writer, Director Jay Duplass is an award-winning writer and director of several short films. His latest studio features include ‘Cyrus’, and ‘Jeff Who Lives at Home’.

Richard Linklater

Detour Filmproduction, Austin Film Society

Oscar-nominated Linklater is a respected writer-director and Artistic Director of the Austin Film Society, which he founded in 1985.The Austin Film Society has given out over $800,000 in grants to Texas filmmakers and received the first National Honoree Award from the Directors Guild of America. He is a long-time supporter of Rainforest Partnership and has been a Films for the Forest judge since its inception in 2009. His films include “Fast Food Nation,” “Dazed and Confused’” “School of Rock,” “Before Sunset” and “Boyhood.”

Dana Wheeler-Nicholson

Actress Dana Wheeler-Nicholson has appeared in numerous movies and TV shows, including ‘Fletch’, ‘Tombstone’, ‘Fast Food Nation’, ‘Friday Night Lights’, and ‘Winter in the Blood’.