2016 Films for the Forest Winners

Short Shorts 1st Place

JP’s Peace Love and Happiness Winner

Forest Products (USA) Directed by: Eric Nelson

Short Shorts 2nd Place

More Than Scientist (USA) Directed by: Eric Michelman

Short Shorts 3rd Place

The World’s Wildest Evolution of Dance (USA) Directed by: Dave Room

Shorts 1st Place

Hope – Indonesia’s Dayak Iban Directed by: Paul Redman

Shorts 2nd Place

Ulin (United Kingdom) Directed by: Leo Plunkett

Shorts 3rd Place

Audience Choice Winner

Moving the Giants – An Urgent Plan to Save the Planet (USA) Directed by: Michael Ramsey

2016 Films for the Forest Judges

Solly Granatstein


Solly Granatstein is an American television producer, formerly with CBS, 60 Minutes, NBC News and ABC News. He is the winner of seven Emmys, a Peabody, a duPont, a Polk, an IRE and virtually every other major award in broadcast journalism. He is also the screenwriter, with Vince Beiser, of “The Great Antonio,” an upcoming film, developed by Steven Soderbergh and Warner Brothers.

Richard Linklater

Detour Filmproduction, Austin Film Society

Oscar-nominated Linklater is a respected writer-director and Artistic Director of the Austin Film Society, which he founded in 1985.The Austin Film Society has given out over $800,000 in grants to Texas filmmakers and received the first National Honoree Award from the Directors Guild of America. He is a long-time supporter of Rainforest Partnership and has been a Films for the Forest judge since its inception in 2009. His films include “Fast Food Nation,” “Dazed and Confused’” “School of Rock,” “Before Sunset” and “Boyhood.”

Julio Quintana


Julio Quintana is a writer, director and cinematographer, whose work has appeared in various films, commercials, music videos and television series, including additional photography on Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life (2011) and To the Wonder (2012). Julio made his feature directorial debut with The Vessel, starring Martin Sheen and intended for release in the fall of 2016. He currently heads the scripted division at Bat Bridge Entertainment as Creative Director.